PDA

View Full Version : Tools used to build

FEARHQ
08-12-2002, 07:37 AM
I was just wondering what kind of tools do you guys use to build your hardware... I'm new to building things, and would really like to learn howto, but first I need the tools. I have seen many soldering irons out there, but which would really fit building things like dejan cables, datacables, sim readers, clips etc...

What do you use to build your stuff? What tools exactly, what brand you like, and what's a good start? It's sort of hard to get started as there is a good ammount of advanced info out there, but not enough beginning... Could anyone point me to this please? It may be alot of questions at once, but any awnser you may have is good enough for me ;)

KnOeFz
08-12-2002, 09:55 AM
About all you need is a soldering iron... I use a 12 wat Weller iron but any iron till 25 watt will do.

Things that will be useful... tongs, tweezers...a "multimeter" (don't know if that's the correct english word) to measure resistance to check for shorts etc...

And some patience when the schematic you made isn't functioning and you need to figure out where you went wrong :D

-=K=-

FEARHQ
08-12-2002, 07:16 PM
Multimeter is the right word :) I had one, have to find it or buy a new one... What's a tongs? I have me trusty soldering kit, time to use it again :) Where should I start though? I assume by building datacables, but are there really any tutorials out there?

KnOeFz
08-12-2002, 09:24 PM
tongs... hmmm my dictionary gave that as word for tool to cut wires and to bend components :) hehehe... Dunno what the right word is in english ... But the conclusion of my story was that for building datacables and stuf you don't need any special equipment. Even the multimeter is optional :)

I think it's good to start with dejan flasher and mbus cable... they are easy to make, low cost and 100% tested.