PDA

View Full Version : WTF... PLz some one help me - C++

dr.bizar
07-07-2003, 01:11 PM
Hi all.

Better give you a little prelude:
I'm a hardware developer so all my program experience is in ASM.
but ASM and windows = too time consuming

So i started with C++ - seams like the reasonable thing to do:
But all of a sudent i'm having port restriction rights, and connection problems in win2000 - cant even connect to my 3310 :(
Beleive me, its not that i havn't spent enough time trying.

Here comes the Q:

How to initialize port in C++ ?

And how to send "directly to ports" ? - in ASM it was no problem as it's low level prg.

PS. plz take it from the top, as I otherwise expect my self to f... up.

Any advice is apriciated

Thx in advance

jeep
07-07-2003, 01:35 PM
This is due to the NT core in 2000/XP - it stops programs accessing the hardware directly. With 95/98 (and dos!) it was easy to play with the ports, but now you need a driver to sit in between your program and the port. That's where USERPORT comes in....

I think it might be as simple as just installing userport, but I've not read up on it.

George

dr.bizar
07-07-2003, 01:50 PM
Hi george - thx for repplying.

I forgot to mention that i want to make it a standalone app.

I will try to be more specific:
The problem exists on all 386 or higher processor, running in protected mode.

As there are only two I/O privilege levels used, level 0 & level 3. Usermode programs will run in privilege level 3, while device drivers and the kernel will run in privilege level 0.

Is there any way to intitialize my app to use I/O ring 0 in C++ ?

I know you can acces the ports dirrectly if you got a device driver that acces via IOCTL calls. But what driver do i need ?

Plz some give me some clues

Cheers

wumpus
07-07-2003, 02:17 PM