PDA

View Full Version : MS/BS simulator

ekonomi
30-07-2003, 02:49 PM
Hello all,

maybe this is a topic that shouldn't be in this forum but i didn't know where else to post it. I was wondering if anyone knows how to create a base station simulator and a mobile simulator. I've seen companies selling such products (in very high prices) and i wondered if you've seen any schematics or something in the net. The idea is to test the on air communication between the MS and the BS in order to search for faults or something.

If any of you find this project usefull i could use every help i could get since i'm not an expert in the field.

ekonomi.

wumpus
31-07-2003, 10:23 AM
Are you talking about a GSM network simulator in hardware or software?

ekonomi
31-07-2003, 11:02 AM
hi,

At first I was thinking about software only, but i realized that you can't simulate the communication between the mobile and the base station just with software. So the project should involve hardware at least for doing the modulation/demodulation for the base station.
As more as I study the gsm specification I get more confused ;-)
so for now i just thought that i could create a device that acts like a sniffer for the mobile phones. It will just receive the radio signals and "decode" them (demodulate, channel decoding and speech decoding).
For now there is no need to simulate the authentication between MS and BS.

heheh As you can see the whole project is not yet cleared in my mind, but it seems like a radio sniffer for gsm networks.

ekonomi.

wumpus
31-07-2003, 11:43 AM
It sounds very interesting, although the "from the air" sniffing part requires extremely expensive equipment.

I do currently "sniff" MS to BS communication by trapping packets going to the TX interface of my MS. But although interesting it's far from a simulator.

<M457>
19-08-2003, 09:50 AM