PDA

View Full Version : I have a Nokia 5110, now what?

G180
29-09-2004, 08:38 PM
Hello everyone, :-)

I'm new here and i'm sorry if i'm posting in the wrong forum but I have a Nokia 5110 that my cousin gave me. Now the problem is that I know nothing about phone, cables and stuff... what I know is that I'm a college student and I'm broke lol and well I was wondering if I could use the phone that I have to make or maybe receive calls...

As I said, i received this phone from my cousin... the specs of this phone are the following:

Nokia 5110 Like this one (http://www.gsm.pdi.net/telefony/n5110_2.jpg)
and that's it... that is all I can think of... oh yes.. when I dial a number a machine answers and says: "thank you for calling cingular wireless bla bla bla"
and the screen says "ROAM" and it has 4 bars in the battery and 3 in the little antena...

from there I dont know nothing else... i believe someone was using it before for free using a hot number or something like that, but i'm not really sure...

so I came here with the experts to see if this phone can be used or I just might as well throw it away...

thank you everyone for reading this, i hope someone can help me.

laterz

browntoa
29-09-2004, 09:16 PM
you can use it with a sim card from any us network that use 900Mhz only as it is a single band phone

Originally, the US used only 1900 MHz for its GSM cell phone service. In the last year or so, there has been a growing amount of GSM service on the 850 MHz band. This type of service will usually be seen in rural areas, because the 850 MHz band has better range than the 1900 MHz band. It can sometimes also found in city areas, particularly if the cell phone company has spare frequencies unused in the 850 MHz band, but no remaining frequencies to use in the 1900 MHz band.