PDA

View Full Version : Nokia 5160i

jamkow
13-10-2002, 12:24 AM
Dear friends:
I´m a complete newbie to this, so, I need all the help that you can give me. I have a 5160i and all those providers on my country are playng with us. So, I want to re-program this one. At first step, I have a few schemes for a f/m cable, do yo uthik that this one will be good enough? (pic102.jpg)
Please, answer me, and then I´ll continue with this newbie´s questions.
Thx!

catweasel
13-10-2002, 12:58 AM
Hi James,
I am not quite sure what it is you want to do, is it to unlock the phone or to flash the phone ?

jamkow
15-10-2002, 01:33 PM
Hi Catweasel! Thx for your reply. In fact, I´m not sure about what I have to do. Probably I´ll have to do both things. The trouble is this one: I had a line with a provider called Unifon, and they cut the service because I didn´t pay a bill that I thought wasn´t fair. After that, I went to another provider, called CTI, and they activated my cell to use it with cards. Till this moment, all was ok. The first provider was a digital one, and the second was analog. Why analog? because they argue that we have to buy the cell from them to allow a digital service (complete lie!!!!).
Well, last month (september), my cell phone become digital on its own, and only got signal from the first provider... and my account with the second is..... where? (I´m thinking in hyperspace, but ... :-)
So, I think that I need flash and unlocking cables, plus Mbus ones... if there are no other way to do it.
The 1 million dollar question is: Can all those cables coexist in one? Or do I have to build each one? and if so, which is the first one that I have to build?

Thx again!!!

catweasel
18-10-2002, 07:35 PM
Hi James,
sorry I havn't posted a reply earlier but have been busy at work. I think you need to talk to your provider. Are you limited to just the 2 providers? I am not aware that 5160i works on analogue & digital. Maybe I'm misunderstanding you. good wishes

jamkow