PDA

View Full Version : Nokia 6280 Firmware?



Valiante
10-04-2006, 09:30 AM
I bought a Nokia 6280 from an eBay auction and was disappointed to discover it's a "three" model with all their links and services built right in (a factory reset doesn't clear).

Not only that but although the seller assured me it was bought in the UK, a lot of the text in the phone and manual is in Japanese - including the built in reference dictionary rendering that feature useless. (The language option makes no difference - is already set to English).

So I was wondering if it's possible to get the original firmware (or whatever's relevant) and replace the entire O/S on the phone back to original Nokia (non-three) spec.

Does anyone know if and/or how this can be done?

DoZZa
11-04-2006, 12:00 AM
You can take it to a Nokia Service Centre and they MAY flash it with the unbranded software. However they may not agree to flash the unbranded firmware if they see three all over it. It will cost you about 20. This should also sort the language issue out

Valiante
11-04-2006, 08:02 AM
Thanks Dozza - that's definitely an avenue worth exploring.

linch
16-04-2006, 10:13 AM
but if i have the firmware wich cable i can use for upgrade my cell?
thanks

electrophoretic
16-04-2006, 01:08 PM
if you want to upgrade the firmware on a 6280 (which is the model mentioned in this thread) then you need a box to do it... either purchase a flashing box or take your phone to a shop for flashing which is the cheaper option!!!

G

linch
16-04-2006, 02:14 PM
good but i want know if possible the name of the box (phoenix, jaf etc.) thanks

electrophoretic
16-04-2006, 05:03 PM
you can use a box called Phoenix Twister which runs official non cracked phoenix... or JAF... or UFS... in fact there are many boxes that support BB5 flashing, my personal favourite is just to use Phoenix for BB5 (safest) and UFS for things like DCT4 etc...

G

linch
18-04-2006, 11:03 AM
many thanks