PDA

View Full Version : Chipping cell phones

joel2600
01-11-2002, 03:08 AM
anyone ever heard of this. for some reason i'm just starting to learn about it now.

basically there are modchips for certain types of phones, lets say a phillips c10, which you solder into your phone. these phones are used as prepay phones, and what happens is what the modchip does is copy various addresses which are used by the phone to store the cash remaining balance to an unused area of the eeprom. Then every time you power the phone off/on, the modchip copies the old cash balance back thus giving you all your calltime again.

this stuff worked in england at some point, and may still work. anyone ever here of anyone doing this to other phones, or in the united states?

green gerbil
01-11-2002, 06:54 AM
Never heard of cash units being stored in the phone because the approach is so obviously insecure. What chipping usually refers to is changing the phone's firmware so that you can change the ESN from the keypad and clone AMPS/TDMA/CDMA on the fly.

joel2600
01-11-2002, 03:32 PM
yeah, i've heard about chipping phones that way too, if anyone has any info on that (schematics, hex code, etc.), i'd be interested.

the chips you are talking about are generally for people who get esn/min pairs to plug into their phone to try and get free service out of it. the chips i'm talking about are placed into phones and sold on the street, to average people who don't even know what an esn is.

here's an article about chipping phones in the UK. and i've also talked to a guy who used to do this when he lived in england.

http://www.hippy.freeserve.co.uk/chipping.htm

i've also got the hex code and diagrams for actually doing this to a philips c10.