Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: How to repair most ofen faced nokia problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    How to repair most ofen faced nokia problems

    Hi all!
    Well this topic is pretty hardware so all of U will be able to try this this things....
    Mostly the problems are with network so Ill start with this........
    First of all always run a test with Eeprom tools 3.1 or 4.0....
    Most problems with this are related to PA or to antenna switch....
    Checking antenna switch is pretty simple.....
    next tip will help U:
    3310/3330
    put the pcb with back up....PA in your left...then /U first must remove the antenna swithch/ start counting from left to right connect 6,12 and 16 pin with a wire....phone must get network /only in 900Mhz/
    8210
    Same position.../PA in Your left/ .....connect 1,7 and 11 pin..
    6210
    PA under IR port....
    then connect 3,9 and 15 pins....
    /Remember this tests are only for 900MHz../
    Some tricks for all nokia phones:...
    After a test with Eeprom tools :
    PPM/MCU Checksum failed: Full flash the phone...If not help U must change the flash chip..
    CCONT Interface failed:Reheat or change CCONT , If not help its mostky MAD or PCB foult...
    Cobba parralel/Serial failed:
    Reheat or change Cobba chip....If not help reheat MAD ..or change it...or PCB foult...
    EEPROM Tune Checksum Faied...MOstly U need to change flash chip, reflash the phone fix IMEI and clear SP locks...
    NOw Ill comment problems related to models:
    3210:
    Always charging: Reheat, change CCONT
    No network: Reheat Cobba,CCONT,PA,IF filters...
    No ringer: Connect Pin 6 of user interface chip to upper right pin of the ringer
    3310:
    Network is found but cant make calls: Reheat CCONT, Cobba and check antenna switch..
    No charge: Check F200
    No charge with Li-Ion battery: reset software with nokia tool 1.9 by rolis
    Battery goes empty when U have a call: This is a PA foult, change it...
    Reconect charger massage: solder a wire from R204 to R200, to the sides looking to Chaps chip...
    Keypad not work proper: Change R414 and 415...or user interface chip..
    Cant power on but charging goes....: Reheat CCONT or change it check voltage on power on button if there is voltage change V202
    Insert SIM card: Reheat CCONT
    Phone resets or turn off by it self: Change or remove L511, or change r529 from2,2kOhms to 1kOhm /Tested-works 100%/
    No ringing: connect Pin 6 of user interface chip with upper pad of ringer...
    Display problems: Try new one ore change C409 and C410
    8210:
    No signal: Mostly PA..
    No signal unless IR active:Try change C153...
    No vibra and lights: Change user interface chip...
    No charge:Remove /or change/ V100
    Charge Ok but will not power on: Reheat CCONT If there is voltage on power on key change V116
    For all DCT3 phones : Network playing and melody run slow: Change 32MhZ clock..
    8310,6510:
    No charge:Check F100...
    Key pad dont work: Check or change Z301...this is valid for all new nokias but I cant remember the number of the chip...
    For all nokias:
    Phone hangs, and cant be fixed with flash: change the clock /26MHz/ If it dont work U need to reball HAGAR chip..


    Some more tips: Be pation, use Ur brain, service manual, ask questions....
    More..Be in love with dead phones...the point: U cant kill it more.../simple precheck: apply 4V to phone from a stabilised unit..if consuption is around 20mA phone is still alive/ ...Ive learned alot diging dead phones....
    Good luck to all of U!
    Regards!
    Sergo_Zmeia
    Last edited by sergo_zmeia; 06-06-2004 at 03:02 PM.
    Im the wind forever free...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    88
    Actually there is one thing that may help- re: the reconnect charger message, i found just now on a phone i did, it was doing all sorts of things in addition to the reconnect message- u turn the phone off and the lights wouldn't go off, then when u turn back on the phone thinks its charging still, with no charger connected ! Also the sounder was buzzing whenever the charger was in. The link between R200 and R204 cleared all these faults at once. Hope this is of some help !

    cheers
    Mark.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    Hi all!

    Here is a no network way of diagnostic:
    Run a test with Eeprom tools 3.1 and 4.0 this gives a point
    next its important if the test is good and no network, I mean phone cant even see it next steps:
    Put SIM card, power on, dial a service number and put phone close to a turned on radio /close to the antena/ if there is a conection with network U will here "puk, puk, puk, puk/ if U dont hear it this solves the problem in most cases
    1. Reheat CCONT-> check phone
    2.Reheat COBBA -> check phone
    3.Reheat HAGAR-> check phone
    If there is network but cant make a call this is PA- U will not hear puk puk puk on radio test..
    Tip..HAGAR is a DSP processor the phone is registering with network with it
    But in nokia phones /DCT3/ problems are mostly around CCONT and COBBA
    Good luck!


    Edit: soon Ill post a guide how to chage BGA chips
    Sergo_Zmeia
    Last edited by sergo_zmeia; 27-03-2004 at 07:05 PM.
    Im the wind forever free...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    Tip bout reheating BGA chips

    Well only reheating doesnt do the job...U need to touch the chip to be sure that bubles under it are solder properly..When Im saing touch it must be a gentle one like U touch a woman...not to smash it to the PCB..
    Tip: Use temperatyre no more than 310 degree celsium..
    Heat the chip with round movements..dont heat the centre U may kill the chip...
    Tip: make some trainings on half live phones on power chips mostly..in this way U will be sure that phone stays alive..
    Im using a dentist tool to touch the chips..
    Dont heat sealed chips..U can kill the phone..
    Regards!
    Sergo_Zmeia
    Last edited by sergo_zmeia; 01-04-2004 at 01:59 PM.
    Im the wind forever free...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    Another little trick for test..

    Hi all!
    Well this is a very helpfull way of testing but it needs some equipment..
    The trick: Get a old battery..open it carefuly...remuve the element..keep the small PCB apply to wires to plus and minus pads of the battery...close back..
    Now U need a DC power supply with voltage and current indicators or 3.6V power supply and multimeter..
    The point: conect battery to DC unit but it in the phone and power on /sim inserted/
    Normal consumption is around 200mA when phone connects to network...100-130mA when lights goes off and after that 10-15mA when get to stand by mode..
    During a call consumption is around 250mA /300mA max/ if its more be sure thats a foulty PA..
    Phone doesnt lights..conect again try power on:
    Consumtion is 30mA and over...phone needs to be flashed..
    Consumption is 20mA and less..Flash chip must be changet and after that flash...
    Consuption is around 10mA..change 26MHz osscilator..If not help problem is flash chip...
    Tips..
    Its perfect if U find a BLB-2 /8210/ it fits on many models including 3310..
    U can also use this little tool when U flash phones-100% garantee..
    Ill update quantities in the future for ather problems..
    Regards!
    Sergo_Zmeia
    Last edited by sergo_zmeia; 01-04-2004 at 11:24 AM.
    Im the wind forever free...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    How to replace BGA chips..

    Hi all...
    Well lets start:
    1.Needed equipment:
    SMD rework soldering station
    Soldering iron
    Mignifier lamp
    BGA plate /look at the attachment/
    Flux / I use liquid flux/
    Thinol paste /I use american, signature 069000 or something like that/
    Resoldering wire
    Twizels
    Small knife
    Dentist tool
    2. Removing
    With the rework station at max 320 degree celsium heat the chip till its posible to pick it up that aprox 40 sec/ dont pick it emidiatly whait some more time and than pick it up...After that heat the PCB some more time~10 sec.
    With the soldering iron and resoldering wire and flux clean the PCB / very carefull here tuoch the soldering iron to the resoldering wire wait till it get hot and very gentle slide it to the PCB ever slide it in direction to U not oposite../ let it to get cold..
    With the soldering iron and flux clean the bubles from the chip..
    Clean bouth PCB and chip with pure alcohol
    /I will describe here the procedure when U dont have a brand new chip, brand new chips comes with bubles/
    Get the BGA plate clean it very good with pure alkohol....
    Find the aproprite sector ..plase it over the chip...Press it with the twizels..
    With the knife apply thinol paste /apply here some preasure with the knife/..
    slide Ur finger over the plate..gentle no need to apply preasure..
    Keeping pressing the plate get the hot air gun /~300 degree celsium/
    and heat the plate U will see how bubles will apear after ~15 sec....heat good ~25-30 sec...Still presing the plate wait ~20 and remove twizels...let the plate get cold...With flexing movements of the plate try to remuve the chip.../I personaly after flexing the plate use the twizels and push the bubles/..
    when the chip is off the plate heat it again /bubles up/..U will see how bubles goes exatly to their places..let it get cold..Precheck..With the magnifier take a look at the bubles..they must be equal...
    Tip:some times one or two bubles are smaler or dont even exist dont worry..without remuving the chip from the plate apply paste again press with the twizels and reheat..or if U have alredy remuved just put it back on the plate and fix the problem..
    Mounting the chip...
    This is the strongest part of the procedure...Apply flux over the PCB...
    Place the chip..there are repers around the place of the chip...fit it good..
    Get the hot air gun and the dentist tool..heat the chip /careful here ..use low air/ for but 30sec...touch it slightly with the dentist tool...As I said in previos post bout reheating U must see the same behavior of the chip...remuve the air gun...let the PCB get cold...
    With a multimeter measure the resistance between + and -...must be over 13KOhms...
    Well thats it...
    Tip...make some trainings with dead phones till U are sure Ur skills are good..
    more: in most cases problem is not the chip..so U can solve the problem only with making new bubles..
    Dentist tool is a tool which dentist use when checking a tooth...
    Good luck all...
    Regards!
    Edit: Im waiting questions and sugestion bout this guide..related only to the things I was wrote here..to make it better...

    Sergo_Zmeia
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by sergo_zmeia; 06-06-2004 at 03:07 PM.
    Im the wind forever free...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    Please all..

    Dont post questins here..or ill close the thread..
    Regards!
    Sergo_Zmeia
    Im the wind forever free...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    Changing DCT4 IMEI

    Hi all!
    Yes its posible....but..
    First its illegal..
    Second..U need good skils and eqipment...
    Third..U will ask why..siple..Nokia has stored IMEI in otp area../it means one time programable area/..
    So ..no guide for it..cause its illegal..
    Just a tip..read alot and U will find how to do this..I personaly dont want to mess with Nokia department..
    Regards!
    Sergo_Zmeia
    Im the wind forever free...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    penang malaysia
    Posts
    97

    No Network

    Hi
    this is my contribution

    if the phone
    - get 0000 - hagar or/and audio

    try to reset factory setting
    - if you get any network name - antena switch or/and PA

    try to manual search for network
    - search for long time and gets all the network name - audio or/and PA
    - search long time but no network - audio or/and ccont
    - search short time and gets or not the network name - hagar

    weak network - antena switch

    one of the band not found - antena switch or/and hagar or/and ccont

    ok thats all
    but this is just some of the teory that i use
    not guaranteed
    tq
    sorry for my bad english

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    33xx and82xx no network software solution..

    Hi all!
    I think this was posted befor by Mr.chunkhead..but Ill post it here again..
    So, get get virgin eeprom and rolis flasher 4.78..write virgin eeprom, than with nokia tool by rolis 1.8 write IMEI, than unlock, than software reset than set FAID..Thats it..If it doesnt work U have hardware foult..
    Regards!
    Sergo_Zmeia
    PS:Its should be valid for all DCT3 phoneds but I havent test it yet..
    Im the wind forever free...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    2,328

    How to repair contact service problem...

    DCT3 phones....
    Always run a test with eeprom tools 3.1 or 4.0..I prefer 4.0...
    mostly 4 problems here:
    1.MCU checksums failed
    2.PPM checksums failed
    3.COBBA parallel failed
    4.Cobba serial failed
    Ok..in first two points U need only to flash Ur phone....
    In 3 and 4...first reheate COBBA chip..If not working .that means the supply is bad..or COBBA chip has bad solderings...
    Well than reheat CCONT first...IF not OK..U need to reball COBBA or change it...
    When changing COBBA chip..phone comes with 4 locks..open nokia tool by rolis and unlock...than update FAID...
    DCT 4 phones..
    Always try to flash first.....If not working reheat UPP/or rebal it....than flash again ..phone working..
    Good luck everyone...
    Regards!
    Sergo_Zmeia
    Last edited by sergo_zmeia; 23-09-2004 at 07:19 PM.
    Im the wind forever free...

  12. #12

    could not get it right

    Quote Originally Posted by sergo_zmeia
    Hi all...
    Well lets start:
    1.Needed equipment:
    SMD rework soldering station
    Soldering iron
    Mignifier lamp
    BGA plate /look at the attachment/
    Flux / I use liquid flux/
    Thinol paste /I use american, signature 069000 or something like that/
    Resoldering wire
    Twizels
    Small knife
    Dentist tool
    2. Removing
    With the rework station at max 320 degree celsium heat the chip till its posible to pick it up that aprox 40 sec/ dont pick it emidiatly whait some more time and than pick it up...After that heat the PCB some more time~10 sec.
    With the soldering iron and resoldering wire and flux clean the PCB / very carefull here tuoch the soldering iron to the resoldering wire wait till it get hot and very gentle slide it to the PCB ever slide it in direction to U not oposite../ let it to get cold..
    With the soldering iron and flux clean the bubles from the chip..
    Clean bouth PCB and chip with pure alcohol
    /I will describe here the procedure when U dont have a brand new chip, brand new chips comes with bubles/
    Get the BGA plate clean it very good with pure alkohol....
    Find the aproprite sector ..plase it over the chip...Press it with the twizels..
    With the knife apply thinol paste /apply here some preasure with the knife/..
    slide Ur finger over the plate..gentle no need to apply preasure..
    Keeping pressing the plate get the hot air gun /~300 degree celsium/
    and heat the plate U will see how bubles will apear after ~15 sec....heat good ~25-30 sec...Still presing the plate wait ~20 and remove twizels...let the plate get cold...With flexing movements of the plate try to remuve the chip.../I personaly after flexing the plate use the twizels and push the bubles/..
    when the chip is off the plate heat it again /bubles up/..U will see how bubles goes exatly to their places..let it get cold..Precheck..With the magnifier take a look at the bubles..they must be equal...
    Tip:some times one or two bubles are smaler or dont even exist dont worry..without remuving the chip from the plate apply paste again press with the twizels and reheat..or if U have alredy remuved just put it back on the plate and fix the problem..
    Mounting the chip...
    This is the strongest part of the procedure...Apply flux over the PCB...
    Place the chip..there are repers around the place of the chip...fit it good..
    Get the hot air gun and the dentist tool..heat the chip /careful here ..use low air/ for but 30sec...touch it slightly with the dentist tool...As I said in previos post bout reheating U must see the same behavior of the chip...remuve the air gun...let the PCB get cold...
    With a multimeter measure the resistance between + and -...must be over 13KOhms...
    Well thats it...
    Tip...make some trainings with dead phones till U are sure Ur skills are good..
    more: in most cases problem is not the chip..so U can solve the problem only with making new bubles..
    Dentist tool is a tool which dentist use when checking a tooth...
    Good luck all...
    Regards!
    Edit: Im waiting questions and sugestion bout this guide..related only to the things I was wrote here..to make it better...

    Sergo_Zmeia
    I really appreciate your effort in teaching us stuff like these.I bought the complete equipment for reballing as requested bga plate,soldering paste,flux,resoldering wire.e.t.c.
    I did as dirtected,I tried to reball a ccont and a hagar but could not get it right as the ball were not coming out.
    Which of the hot air noozles will I use...?
    How close will the noozle be to the ic's...?
    In your pic,the ic seems to be on top of the plate.Could you please advice me again.
    Thanks in advance.

  13. #13

    3310 Vibra non stop running

    Hi
    first of all I wat to excuse for my English.
    I have problem with 3310. When I put a battery the Vibra is starting to run
    The phone doesen't power on. I think that it was water damage but I am not sure
    what do You suggest?

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by arfik
    Hi
    first of all I wat to excuse for my English.
    I have problem with 3310. When I put a battery the Vibra is starting to run
    The phone doesen't power on. I think that it was water damage but I am not sure
    what do You suggest?
    clean the board well with water and soap.then dry it well under a bright bulb only then blow it . phone will on .if not check if volt is coming from on off switch.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by arfik
    Hi
    first of all I wat to excuse for my English.
    I have problem with 3310. When I put a battery the Vibra is starting to run
    The phone doesen't power on. I think that it was water damage but I am not sure
    what do You suggest?
    mate try reball ccont if still cant u need replace cpu..

  16. #16

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by arfik View Post
    Hi
    first of all I wat to excuse for my English.
    I have problem with 3310. When I put a battery the Vibra is starting to run
    The phone doesen't power on. I think that it was water damage but I am not sure
    what do You suggest?
    I will suggest you to meet an expert in the field, few days back I have faced the same problem, after meeting the technical guys my cell is working properly now.

  17. #17
    Thanks..................

  18. #18
    [QUOTE=arfik;345055]Hi
    first of all I wat to excuse for my English.
    I have problem with 3310. When I put a battery the Vibra is starting to run
    The phone doesen't power on. I think that it was water damage but I am not sure
    what do You suggest?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. All Nokia MCU & PPM files - huge database
    By gsm-tech in forum Links
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 17-11-2011, 04:32 AM
  2. dct3 ant dct4
    By zeynelkutlu in forum DCT 3 Flashing / Upgrading / Modding
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 03:29 AM
  3. Service Manuals for exchange
    By swic in forum Sales
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 27-09-2004, 08:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •