Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 69

Thread: VP20 Schematic and PCB...

  1. #1

    VP20 Schematic and PCB...

    There are two files attached to this post. One of them is VP20 PCB and other is schematic diagram which is created by me from PCB.

    I build VP20 from this schema but before as i said it's not working.

    If there are any experts about this programmer please check the schematic and if there is any mistake please let me know...

    Best Regards.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    i have take a look to your schematic,i haven't finish check,but it seem like no problem,still now,but your schematic is very confusing,it is better to look at pcb board to build the programmer than look at your schematic.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    i seem like it has some problem at the switch part.i check this schematic with what i remember only,bocz i just draw the schematic few day ago.i'm not free now will check it agian later.

  4. #4
    Yes, you are rigth. My schematic is too confusing. Proteus making too complex circuits and it needs manual corrections... but i didn't have enough time for correct some sections...

    If i made mistake drawing circuit from PCB then i am waiting your corrections...

    Best Regards and thank you for your attention...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    ok i have correct the schematic,i has two misstake.only small misstake.you programmer should work fine after you correct this two part.unless you make wrong connection on transistor,diode and led.

  6. #6
    Thank you for your help.

    With your corrections, one of my problem solved. Now i am able to write or read Program+Data section of PIC16F877 on silver card.

    But i have two problem.

    One of them is reading KI and IMSI with SIMSCAN. Program allways says "Card don't sent answer to Reset!" and stops running. I tried full screen dos window on Win98 and pure dos with CWSDPMI or DEXDEBUG but same problem.

    Another problem is reading or writing eprom data to 24LC64 on silver card. I used many program such as Cardwriter, Icprog, ponyprog etc. but none of them couldn't write or read eprom data. For example cardwriter program installing built-in loader and when begin write to eprom the read/write led on programmer flashing about 1 sec period and nothing happen. After long time waiting program giving "error write to eprom"

    Also with cardinal says "no byte(s) in input buffer. Check the card" and there is no read/write led activation an programmer.

    If you have any advice about these problems please let me know.

    Best Regards.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    for writing eeprom date to a silver card you need to set the programmer to phoniex mode.for reading we useally use smartmouse mode,but with vp20,i think you can set it to phonies mode to read it.
    i haven't have time to build the vp20 so i don't know how it work.
    ask KnOeFz for help,he use vp20 to read KI and program silvercard.post the answer here after you ask him.

  8. #8
    Thank you Manipulator.

    After my last post, i got KI and IMSI from my orijinal sim. The problem was wrong mode selection as you said. For reading KI and IMSI, VP20 must be in mouse mode.

    But eprom problem didn't solved yet. I will ask it to KnOeFz.

    Best Regards.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    388
    I understand ki extraction with sim_scan was ok ...

    I program my gold/greencard with Icprog 1.05
    For me programming only works on 3.5 mhz, not 6 mhz, so make sure both the programmer and Icprog are set to 3.5 mhz.

    I generated the hex with simemu 5.0, this is greencard version, if you use silvercard use sim_emu 4.10.

    First prog the flash... set ic prog to pic16f877 and make sure vp20 is in ludipipo mode (switch down). Load the flash file. If it won't work try to set Icprog to phoenix mode (settings, smartcard(phoenix) should be set)...

    next set Icprog to phoenix mode (settings, smartcard(phoenix) should be set)
    Set vp20 to phoenix mode (switch up)
    set icprog to 24c64 for silvercard or 24c128 for greencard.
    Load the eeprom file and prog it.

    that's it....


    -=K=-

  10. #10
    Thank you KnOeFz...

    I did all of them you said.

    Writing to pic is ok but when i select 24c64 and Smartcard mode from icprog then press write button the program giving "Card reset failed" error and there is no read/write led activity on the vp20 programmer. Also using another programs such as cardwriter or ponyprog i got similar errors.

    I tried all switch and jumper combinations and allways used 3.5 Mhz setting and xtal on the vp20 and icprog but i got same error.

    Writing to pic is ok but eprom not yet.

    Best Regards.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    as KnOeFz say,put you long switch up,and all the jumper to phoenix mode,3.579MHz.
    set the icprog to phoenix reader,and set crystal speed at setting.i should work fine,if you can program the pic.
    unless you have problem when you program the pic.do you get the message of pic success verifyed when you program the pic.
    the simemu hex file contian eeprom loader,so it should not be any problem when program the eeprom.
    did you use the right component for the reader.
    the transister should be BC558C not BC558B,and BC548C not BC548B,you can use the B type but be carefull with the pinout.

  12. #12
    Writing or reading pic no problem. Also verifying is too.

    I can read all code from pic . But writing eprom is problem.

    Last nigth i tried to making a home made gold card (Pic 16F84A+24C16) and i connected it to vp20. VP20 programmed this gold card's pic and eprom with no error. I verified pic and eprom after programming and there is no problem.

    But with silver card i have read and write problem.

    I couldn't find C series transistors, i have B series and i used them but as i said before vp20 wrote gold card's eprom with these components.

    I guess vp20 has a problem with silver cards.

    One question to you; Can you explain switch position on the schema? Which pins connected each other on which mode?

    Best Regards.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    than i think you don't know how to use the icprog to program the silvercard.the icprog can use to program the goldcard easyly,but to program you need some technik.
    here is link to vp20 mode setting
    click whatever vp20 text you see.
    http://www.digital-sistem.com/urun.asp

  14. #14
    Ok my friends problems solved.

    The problem was my silver card's failure. I got new card and everything is ok... Now i have one card with 3 operators.

    Best Regards and thank you for all.

  15. #15
    hey will anybody like to tell me what is this vp20 used for, ie what exactly vp20 is????

    naman

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    388
    search old topics... everything is there... even including photo's

    -=K=-

  17. #17
    Is this a silver card? It is a 5 to 1 sim.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    Originally posted by Serdem
    Ok my friends problems solved.

    The problem was my silver card's failure. I got new card and everything is ok... Now i have one card with 3 operators.

    Best Regards and thank you for all.

    i have make the pcb that you attach here,but i having problem with the card detect part.i not sure that the problem is come from my transistor or not,but i think the problem is on the pcb it self.

    the vp20 only work to reader simcard after i cut/broken the circuit to card detect,because the card detect switch has grounded the voltage that need to read/program the chip.

    are you having this problem,what transistor you use,how you connect it,can you simply draw out the circuit/position how you connect the transistor for me.
    i can't find out other problem.i use bc548c and bc558C.

    thanks in advance.

  19. #19
    The card detect switch must be closed if there is no card in the programmer. When you insert card to programmer the card detect switch must be opened.

    There are two type sim card sockets arround and you must use closed switch type when there is no card in the socket...

    I used "c" series of transistors too.

    If you want transistor's pinout and locations on the pcb i guess the attached pictures will help you... If i misunderstand you sorry...

    Best Regards...
    Last edited by Serdem; 27-11-2002 at 01:26 PM.

  20. #20
    Also i have simple schematic version of VP20.

    I removed external eprom socket, card detect switch and some connections for card slot because it's not necessary for programming sim card.

    It's working very well...

    Best Regards...

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749

    i don't think so

    i don't think that the card detect should close when card not in.i should be open.if the card detect is close when card is not insert,than we can just skip the part,and don't need to buy transistor for that part.
    i has test the vp20 as card detect close when no card insert,and card detect is open when no card is insert with a smartcard reader driver that need card detect to be open when no card is insert.the driver work fine for his reader with card detect,but it can't work with vp20(card insert open/close).
    any idea what software can use to test the card detect.

  22. #22
    I am sure the card detect must be closed when card not in the slot. Also as i said before it's not necessary for cloning GSM sim cards. Remove this connections from schema (i posted modified schema before).

    May be you can use KiExtractor for card detect function test. It's Cardinal's plug-in.

    p.s: I modified my post with attached transistor.zip. I had an mistake and corrected... So sorry about this...

    Best Regards...

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    @Serdem

    thanks for the info.
    yes,the problem is on my crad connector that card detect open when no card insert.

    but the card reader is work fine for program the pic,simcard and eeprom.as i say after i remove the card detect part.the card detect in here has no big effect.

  24. #24
    Yes, the card detect part is only used for programming external eprom where inserted in the 4x4 empty socket on the programmer. Also may be used for programming some other smartcards but as i said before it's not necessary for programming sim cards...

    Best Regards

  25. #25
    hello

    i want to build vp20 programmer
    i am interested in the first version not the simpler one made by serdem

    1. can you please tell me the complete components list because i can not see in the scematics very good .
    2. what is the name of the large switch .i can not find it and need the exact name and model to order it.
    3. what about the smart card socket. what is the exact model and name so i can order it too. has it something special in it ??

    thank you very much in advance

    zx
    you can e-mail at [email protected]

    john

  26. #26
    Hi zx9999....

    Part List for VP20 according to original schematic;

    1 x 4049 IC
    1 x 3.57 Mhz Xtal
    1 x 6 Mhz Xtal
    2 x Green Led (3 or 5 mm)
    2 x Red Led (3 or 5 mm)
    2 x BC548 Transistor
    1 x BC558 Transistor
    1 x 7812 Voltage Ragulator
    2 x 6.2V Zener Diode
    1 x 5.1V Zener Diode
    1 x 1N4001 Diode
    1 x 220uF Capacitor
    1 x 100nF Capacitor
    2 x 24pF Capacitor
    1 x 4.7M Resistor
    6 x 2.2K Resistor
    5 x 10K Resistor
    2 x 150 Ohm Resistor
    2 x 1 Ohm Resistor (you can short circuit with wire instead of these)
    1 x DB9 female serial port connector
    1 x IC socket for externel eprom (4x4 pin)
    1 x IC socket for 4049 (8x8 pin)
    1 x Amphenol smart card socket with card detect switch
    1 x Mode Switch ( I don't know it's model name)

    that's it.... I hope there are no forgotten parts because i listed them from schematic..

    I don't know exact model of mode switch but if you couldn't find this switch you can use two or three separate switches instead of it....

    I drawn connection diagram of mode switch on my simple vp20 schematic...

    Best Regards...

  27. #27
    thank you very much for your reply

    i took a look at the schematics again and i noticed that :

    35 1 x L7812 Voltage regulator ( is it L7812 or just 7812)
    34 1 x 1N4002 Diode (is it 1N4002 or 1N4001)
    32 1 x 220 mF Capasitor (is it 220mF or 220uF)

    numbers 35 34 32 is in the scematics - attachment below

    can you please also take a look in this scematic and tell me if i put
    in the right place the components ?

    thanks again for your help


    john

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    >>is it L7812 or just 7812)
    it is the same depant to company the make the chip.


    >>is it 1N4002 or 1N4001)
    both also can use.

    >>is it 220mF or 220uF)
    it is a 220uF

  29. #29

    little more help

    thanks for the answer

    can you please also take a look in this scematic and tell me if i put
    in the right place the components ?

    anyone knows the name of the switch so i can order it somewhere ?

    where did you found that ?

    manipulator and longbow i think you build vp20
    or any other friend if knows the name - description of the switch please tell me

  30. #30
    What program should I use to open the file posted
    09-10-2002 "corrected vp20 schematic" by manopulator?

    Where can I find a user manual in English to VP20
    to get help with settings of the different modes?

    Regards

  31. #31
    you need winzip to unzip the file and acdsee to view the .jpg file inside

    if you look all the posts you will see the settings for different modes (friends of the forum explained it)

    i need someone who built it to take a look my previous post to tell me if i have the right components in the right place

    thanks

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    Originally posted by Trader
    What program should I use to open the file posted
    09-10-2002 "corrected vp20 schematic" by manopulator?

    Where can I find a user manual in English to VP20
    to get help with settings of the different modes?

    Regards
    just use any picture viewer to open it,or just use windows mspaint.exe

    i atach some manual in english here,hope it can help

  33. #33
    I dont have ACDsee to open"corrected vp20 schematic" with,
    but I have tried several image softwares including konvertor
    that konverts over 400 types of image files.Not even
    that software can open this file,so I think someone has
    manipulated the file.
    Is it possible to upload it again.
    Best regards

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    Originally posted by Trader
    someone has
    manipulated the file.
    Is it possible to upload it again.
    Best regards
    nope,i still can open the picture using only mspaint that come with windows98/ME.
    are you using windows.i told you to use the mspaint to open it,have you try,i draw the picture also using the program.

    look for the program in
    C:\Program Files\Accessories
    the drawing program.

  35. #35
    in the attachment below i made o photo with components on the pcb
    i need someone that actually build the vp20 programmer to tell me if this is the right place for the components

    if you have the time please take a look and answer

    thank you very much

  36. #36
    Hi.
    If anyone has downloaded the zip-file
    "corrected vp20 schematic" and succeded to open it with
    any software,please send the file to this email adress.
    [email protected]

    Best regards

  37. #37
    Hi again.
    I have a better idea,can anyone in words describe the
    two faults in the schematic that was posted first by Serdam.
    Regards

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    749
    Originally posted by Trader
    Hi.
    If anyone has downloaded the zip-file
    "corrected vp20 schematic" and succeded to open it with
    any software,please send the file to this email adress.
    [email protected]

    Best regards
    ?????are you using windows.i told you to use the mspaint to open it,have you try,i draw the picture also using the program.look for the program in
    C:\Program Files\Accessories
    the drawing program.
    i have download it and open it with mspaint.it run fine.
    the file is zip by winzip, open it with winzip is better.
    go to start menu==> run ==>type in "mspaint" and run it.

  39. #39
    I have tried every image-software I have including Paint,
    there are an error message "not valid image file".
    I use winzip and WIN ME.
    So it is impossible to open it for me.
    But as I wrote before you can describe in a few words
    if you have the time.
    Then I try to program a goldcard with ChipCat I get
    an error message "loader doesnt work"

  40. #40
    To Manipulator;

    Your attachment about vp20 is not in english...

    Best Regards...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •