PDA

View Full Version : Useless Phone

man_muffy
21-10-2002, 04:25 PM
My 8310 just turns off when it actually connects to the network, then cycles on/off repeatedly. Is this a network IMEI bar? It does the same with Voda and Virgin - haven't tried any others.
Currently the phone is useless to me and the networks won't give me details of who has barred it (phone found in puddle in park), so I can't return it. I have 4 questions:
:confused: Can I change the IMEI if I have a DCT4 dual bus cable?
:confused: What s/w do I need?
:confused: I have seen mention of a dongle. What is this needed for and when?
:confused: Is there any way of finding the owner?

Sorry to be a pain and I'm sure this has all been asked a zillion times, but I'm new to all this.

Muffy

lonegunman
21-10-2002, 04:40 PM
Odd's are you have some water damage on the phone which you need to clean.Then you may need a software upgrade as the old 8310's were full of bugs.

At this time I there is no free software for IMEI changing or for software upgrade (for upgrade I can do for you), the dongle which one as it could be the unlocking dongle, flashing dongle or the PKD-1, as for founding the owner if the networks can't give out the info what chance do we have, if you PM me the IMEI number I can see if I can get some info from club nokia but thats about it, I would hand the phone in to the police and wait for 3 or 6 months to see if anyone claims it if not the phone is yours, so you could phone up the barring network and get it unbarred as you have done all you can to find the owner.

Before you hand it in (if you do) take the battery out and note down all the numbers on the label as that is all the info you can get off the phone.

All the best with this.:D

man_muffy
21-10-2002, 04:49 PM
The phone worked with my Voda SIM for a couple of weeks, then started the cycling business. If it did that straight away I would have assumed it was a hardware fault from water damage.